Skip to main content

Do I like Drupal ?

Caution: The title might be somewhat misleading but kind of relevant. For the next few para I’m going to rant about drupal. (so all the drupal lovers please dont read beyond this point. Also this is my personal biased POV. I don’t gain or loose anything for or against drupal).
Being said that : Here it goes:
Do I like Drupal: Hell No (so far)
Why ?
1. It’s shit. I think it’s an abomination of anything called CMS. 
2. It’s a VB (visula basic) in PHP. And as a developer I’ve never liked visual basic. And drupal is similar in extra that it is in PHP. So yes .. figure the rest out.
3. It works well for the people who think “installing/upgrading their mobile OS makes them like developers hence Mr. KnowItAll.”. Guess what ? it doesn’t and that’s not what developers do. So, you installed few modules in drupal and made it work for the purpose - this doesnt qualify you as a developer nor makes drupal *really easy and nice CMS*. Eventually this *install module and get things done in few clicks* runs out of it’s charm when a specific requirement comes through that doesn’t fit with it’s out of the box criteria. From this point on the PAIN of drupal begins. 
4. I dont like the idea of *you have this magic function and here’re few lines of code* that you will put in this specific file and the desired text will appear on the site. I like to know how it’s working .. is it creating lots of sessions or lots of garbage .. is it process heavy and all that crap. Unfortunately that’s exactly what drupal does (hooks and theme functions that you’d write all over the site). Even more messy example: functions defined in one module/file is accessible in another file/module. That means it perhaps is declaring them as global. This is good and bad both at the same time. I’d like to have control over this functionality but do I have ? So far I dont think I have.
5. One of the biggest + point / brag about drupal is that it has a large community. But what about the fact that a lot of them are *asshole programmers* (definition of *asshole programmer* : Just so you know how to do a for loop does not make you a programmer/developer. There’re a lot more involved in it such as complexity..planning .. whether the for loop actually is needed or not .. efficient use of functions etc etc. So posting something like “Oo I wrote this for loop but it’s not terminating” on the blog is absolutely stupid and asshole like specially if the solution for that is, you forgot to give it a proper terminating condition because you are an asshole. You are just polluting the blog. programming is not in your capability. so stay out of it. But they dont cause they are assholes). I’m sure majority will agree that quantity on shit quality is actually crap. I felt the drupal blogs/forums are somewhat like that. (Ofcourse there’re some brilliants there. Not denying that fact).
6. it doesnt follow traditional CMS structure or some structure that is better than the traditional.
7. Since when it looked easy (from a CMS’ POV) having all the content on a flat list instead of some sort of folder or tree based structure. Yes, if it were the age when people communicated with a walky talky I would have gladly accepted this but we have smart phones now. And CMSes the a lot better than 5 years ago. I still can’t figured out how drupal has managed to survive all these years like a cockroach. 
O wait .. I know : cause of the assholes, who are afraid of adapting new better changes and like to stuck with the old crappy cause the’re too lazy to keep up with the technologies. (probably still using walky talky to call their moms from their basement where they live).
So Why Am I Working on Drupal ?
Cause the client specifically asked for drupal. I guess this is quite common scenario why many developers (good or bad[like me]) who don’t like drupal but working on/with it. Some guy(Mr KnowItAll cause he, in dinosor’s age did some sort of programming [possibly wrote a hello world following Delphi for Dummies step by step]) in the decision making committee thought drupal is awesome without (i dont know) no particular valid reason or deluded by drupal’s misleading advantages (larger community, lots of plugins, broad support etc etc). 

Why I wrote all these crap ?
I am so annoyed by drupal  architecture and “drupal’s way of doing things” that I was almost blew up in anger. Some shrink somewhere said writing helps dealing with frustration. So I’m testing whether it actually works.
Also it could be because I’m a crappy developer. Or I don’t know drupal enough to appreciate it. 
So far all I have felt about it is it’s a “pain in the ass”.
Maybe someday when I will know enough about it (after doing 5/6 projects according to the experts) I will probably say like the experts “I kinda dont hate it now”.

BTW this is what came up when I searched learning drupal:

UPDATE (16/11/2015): I kinda dont hate it now. I will write another post soonish explaining the good, bad and ugly in drupal. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Passwordless Auth to Azure Key Vault using External Secret and Workload Identity

I want to fetch my secrets from Azure KV and I don't want to use any password for it. Let's see how this can be implemented. This is yet another blog post (YABP) about ESO and Azure Workload Identity. Why Passwordless Auth: It is a common practice to use some sort of "master password" (spn clienid, clientsecret etc) to access Secret Vaults (in this case it is AZ KV) but that master password becomes a headache to manage (rotate, prevent leak etc). So, the passwordless auth to AKV is ideal.  Why ESO: This is discussed and addressed in the conclusion section. Workload Identity (Passwordless Auth): Lets make a backward start (just for a change). I will try to explain how the passwordless auth will work. This will make more sense when you will read through the detailed implementation section. Here's a sequence diagram to explain it: There's no magic here. This is a well documented process by microsoft  here . The below diagram (directly copied from the official doc...

Do you even Kubernetes ? - in private cloud

Kubernetes (“koo-burr-NET-eez”) /κυβερνήτης/ - Can be used as noun or verb. Noun "helmsman" or "pilot" or "Orchestrator". We use Kubernetes to achieve resiliency for our application. Verb Perform the act of doing Kubernetes. When done using TKG it is easy but can be super hard if the right tool is not used. Do you even Kubernetes? If I were to survey about how many people in IT industry (regardless of role) knows or at least heard about Kubernetes I would be very surprised if the percentage came out any less than at least 80%. I am curious though, How many people have actually deployed on Kubernetes? How many people have created a Kubernetes cluster? How? The answer could go either way of "Yeah, it's easy" OR "Dude!! it's hard". This is because, in my opinion, it all depends on choosing the right toolset that are fit for purpose. In this post I will create a Kubernetes cluster and deploy a microservice application End-To-End, th...

Openshift-Powered Homelab | Why, What, How

I wanted to build a Homelab for some time but it was taking a backseat as I always had access to cloud environments (eg: cloud accounts, VMware DC etc) and the use cases I was focusing on didn't really warrant for one. But lately, some new developments and opportunities in the industry triggered the need to explore use cases in a bare-metal server environment, ultimately leading to the built of my own homelab, called MetalSNO. In this post, I will discuss some of my key reasons for building a homelab, the goals I set for it, and the process I followed to building one from scratch. I'll conclude with some reflections on whether it was truly worth it and what I plan to do with it going forward. Compelling reasons (The Why ) My uses cases for a homelab weren't about hosting plex server, home automation etc (I have them on Raspberry PIs for some years now). My Homelab is really about exploring technologies and concepts that are on par with industry trend. Below are some of the ...

Managing devices using Edge Manager

Managing edge devices has been a complex process as traditional IT ops tools fall short in distributed, low-connectivity environment to manage huge quantity of devices.  Red Hat Edge Manager  (Open source project: FlightControl , GA'd by Red Hat on late Jan, 2026) solves these challenges by providing streamlined management of edge devices and applications through a declarative approach . Now, there's a fair bit to unpack here. But for simplicity this is how I am going to map those 3 things here: Management of edge devices: I am mapping this to LCM (including upgrade, patch etc) of the underlying OS (in this case RHEL OS of BootC flavor or at least UBI based RHEL ). Managing applications: Mapping this to deploying applications and LCM of the applications stack on the OS. Declarative approach: This one is super interesting. To me this is very K8s-yy but in the world of edge devices running linux (RHEL OS, as of today). And then this thing also has MCP : This is my next prob...

Smart wifi controlled irrigation system using Sonoff and Home Assistant on Raspberry Pi - Part 1

If you have a backyard just for the sake of having one or it came with the house and you hate watering your garden or lawn/backyard then you have come to the right place. I genuinely believe that it is a waste of my valuable time. I would rather watch bachelorette on TV than go outside, turn on tap, hold garden hose in hand to water. Too much work!! Luckily, we have things like sprinkler system, soaker etc which makes things a bit easy. But you still have to get off that comfy couch and turn on tap (then turn off if there's no tap timer in place). ** Skip to the youtube video part if reading is not your thing   When I first moved into my house at first it was exciting to get a backyard (decent size), but soon that turned on annoyance when it came down maintaining it, specially the watering part. I laid bunch sprinklers and soaker through out the yard and bought tap timer but I still needed to routinely turn on the tap timer. Eventually few days ago I had enough of this rub...

Cloud Native CICD or CICD Natively in Cloud

Kubernetes aka K8s is a popular term these days and the technology is reshaping how we develop, build and deliver applications for obvious good reasons. All the major cloud vendors have K8s offering as well as it is also available on onprem private clouds/data centres too ( Read my post about this ). Thus, I can claim that K8s as platform is cloud native and applications running on K8s are also cloud native (provided it meets some other criteria).  In this post I will describe my take on the topic Cloud Native CICD. Table of Contents: Cloud Native CI/CD CI, CD and Pipelines Challenges with Traditional CICD tools Core attributes of K8s native CICD tools Choices available for K8s native CICD tools Why I like Cartographer Cartographer drawbacks and solutions Mercator - The Cartographer UI Tanzu Application Platform Conclusion Cloud Native CI/CD: The term "Cloud Native CICD" can be interpreted in two ways: Produce cloud native deployable (through CI) and deploy/deliver it on a cl...